Brownies With a Healthy(er) Twist

IMG_20140110_131530

This week we celebrated our baby girl’s 6 month birthday. Since our living arrangement didn’t lend itself well to doing something special when my son hit the big Half Year mark, I was especially excited to do something special this time around.

Enter the Coconut Fudge Brownie.

Now I don’t like fudge. I’m not a big fan of chocolate in general. It’s not womanly, I know, but I have never enjoyed the taste of it. And fudge has that strange powdered sugar aftertaste. BUT I do like coconut oil. I have not found a place in cooking that I don’t like coconut oil. It makes everything taste good, including brownies and fudge.

I’ve used both of these recipes for awhile but this was the first time I combined them. It won’t be the last. They were amazing together, warm from the oven and the next morning with coffee for breakfast.

The fudge was a staple through pregnancy when I had a sweet craving and I could feel good knowing I was giving my unborn babes healthy fats to grow on rather than a sugar high. Now obviously since the fudge contains raw honey and my daughter just turned 6 months, she did not partake of her half birthday celebration; in fact, she napped through it.

BROWNIE RECIPE
1 cup sugar
1/2 cup flour
1/3 cup unsweetened cocoa
1/4 tsp salt
1/4 tsp aluminum free baking powder
2 eggs
3 tbsp melted butter
1/4 melted coconut oil
1 tsp vanilla extract

Whisk dry ingredients together with a fork. Pour wet ingredients over dry ingredients and mix together. Pour into greased 8×8 or 9×9 pan and bake at 350° for 20-25 minutes.

FUDGE RECIPE
2 parts coconut oil
2 parts unsweetened cocoa
1 part raw honey
Pinch of sea salt
Capful (or two depending on how much you make) vanilla extract

Melt oil over low heat, add all other ingredients and stir well to combine. Pour over the brownies you just took out of the oven OR line a loaf pan with parchment paper and pour your fudge in. The parchment paper will make it easy to remove. Store in fridge or freezer.

IMG_20140110_131515

Leave a Reply

